Investigators and Researchers

Project I (Early childhood programs such as Head Start and Early Head Start):
George Farkas
Greg Duncan
Deborah Vandell
Margaret Burchinal
Aaron Sojourner
Jade Jenkins
Ana Auger
Elizabeth Miller
Tyler Watts – graduate student
Jennifer Duer – graduate student
Melina Pinales – graduate student
Qing Zang -graduate student
Project II (State standards for health education curricula involving alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs):
Christopher (Kitt) Carpenter
Tim Bruckner
Thurston Domina
Sara Wakefield
Patrick O’Malley – Consultant
Project III (Distributional impacts of school policies):
Marianne Bitler
AnneMarie Conley
Thurston Domina
Hilary Hoynes
Andrew Penner
Emily Penner
Sean Corcoran
Paul Hanselman – postdoctoral fellow
Kevin Williams – graduate student
Jessica Monnet – graduate student
Project IV (“So what?” question of the possible adult consequences resulting from projects I-III):
Greg Duncan
Drew Bailey
Maria Rosales-Rueda
Kathryn Duckworth
Katja Kokko
Katherine Magnuson
Candice Odgers
Sharon Simonton
Lars Bergman – Consultant
Thomas McDade – Consultant
Molly Metzger – Consultant
John Schulenberg – Consultant
Melinda Petre – postdoctoral fellow
Robert Duncan – postdoctoral fellow
Kenneth Lee – graduate student
Remy Pages – graduate student
Project Coordinator:
Andrea Karsh
Principal Investigators

  • George Farkas (PI Project I) Professor, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • Mail: gfarkas@uci.edu
  • Phone: 949-824-3523
  • Web: http:Farkas

Co-Investigators Project I

  • Deborah Vandell, Professor and Founding Chair, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • Mail: dvandell@uci.edu
  • Phone: 949-824-7840
  • Web: http:Vandell

  • Margaret Burchinal, Professor and Research Scholar, FPG Institute, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Mail: burchinal@unc.edu
  • Phone: 919-966-5059
  • Web: http:Burchinal

  • Elizabeth Miller
  • Graduate Student, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • ebmiller@uci.edu
  • Jennifer Duer
  • Graduate Student, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • duerj@uci.edu
  • Melina Pinales
  • Graduate Student, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • mpinales@uci.edu
  • Qing Zhang
  • Graduate Student, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • qingz8@uci.edu
Co-Investigators Project II

  • Thurston Domina, Associate Professor, School of Education, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Mail: tdomina@ad.unc.edu
  • Phone:
  • Web:

Co-Investigators Project III

  • AnneMarie Conley, Associate Professor, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • Mail: ampm@uci.edu
  • Phone: 949-824-6796
  • Web: http:Conley

  • Hilary Hoynes, Professor and Haas Distinguished Chair in Economic Disparities, University of California, Berkeley
  • Mail: hoynes@berkeley.edu
  • Phone: 530-564-0505
  • Web: http:Hoynes

  • Emily Penner, Assistant Professor, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • emily.penner@uci.edu
  • hanselman_p_150Paul Hanselman
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • Mail: paul.hanselman@uci.edu
  • Phone: 949-824-5850
  • Web:
Co-Investigators Project IV

  • Lars Bergman, Consultant, Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology, University of Stockholm
  • Mail: lrb@psychology.su.se
  • Phone: 46-8-163965
  • Web: http://www2.psychology.su.se/staff/lrb/indexeng.html

  • Molly Metzger, Consultant, George Warren Brown School of Social Work, Washington University , St. Louis
  • Mail: mmetzger@brownschool.wustl.edu
  • Phone: 314-935-6989

  • John Schulenberg, Consultant, Research Professor and Professor of Developmental Psychology, Institute for Social Research and Department of Psychology, University of Michigan
  • Mail: schulenb@umich.edu
  • Phone: 734-763-5043
  • Web: http://monitoringthefuture.org/

  • Kenneth Lee
  • Graduate Student, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • ktlee2@uci.edu
  • Remy Pages
  • Graduate Student, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • rpages@uci.edu
Project Coordinator

  • Andrea Karsh, Research Specialist, School of Education, University of California, Irvine
  • Mail: akarsh@uci.edu
  • Phone: 949-824-9225